Extreme wishful thinking.

You know how they say … know what you want, to be able to get what you want. It’s worked for me in the past and now I’m at a crucial turning point, when being content with living month to month with the occasional impulsive purchase here and there, is not working out anymore. So here I am, eternally grateful for everything and everyone in my life up to this point and wishful for the best in the future.

Specifically, let’s imagine a two garage house with a huge swimming pool up the hills in San Diego, not too far from the beach, where it’s sunny most of the time and everything looks like in the movies. A Jeep and a Tesla in the driveway, no dogs and a immaculate house. Passive income, around $30,000 a month, abroad holidays at least twice a year. Spending all day, not worrying about nothing but making the most of the present moment, enriching our life with more knowledge and experiences. No smoking, drinking or drug-use, but healthy food, exercise, meditation and relaxation. It may not sound very exciting or thrilling, but it surely sounds like paradise to me and it would be amazing if somehow these could be achieved by the next Christmas.

Buying the latest and greatest tech, clothes and different trends while giving away the unneeded stuff, helping out relatives and friends, giving as much as receiving, sounds like true happiness to me and this is exactly what I want. That iMac that my wife wished for since she was a kid? Click to order. Latest iPhone/iPad? Click to order. Evolving by studying history and the mysteries of the universe, surrounding ourselves with successful people who know what they want in life as much as we do? The constant flow of money will bring just that in no time.

Immediately judgmental, negative thoughts try to jump in my brain to bring my expectations down, but fuck that, we’ve only got one life and this is what I want. The gratefulness that fills my heart pushes a wide smile on my face, my brain is calm and my heart is content. Deep breaths, focus on good things.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑